Guwahati High Court – All Essential Details about It

The Guwahati High Court was established on March 1, 1948, after the promulgation of the Government of India Act 1935 by the Governor-General of India. April 5, 1948, was when the High Court of Assam was formed for the then province of Assam. A reorganization act in 1971 called the Guwahati High Court established its operations 1971.

Where is Guwahati High Court?

Following the dissolution of the High Court of Assam, the Guwahati High Court was founded. On September 9, 1947, the Assam Legislative Assembly approved a motion advocating the establishment of an Assam High Court. On August 14, 1948, the Assam High Court moved from Shillong to Guwahati and had been there ever since. On December 1, 1963, the Assam High Court officially became the High Court of Assam and Nagaland in acknowledgement of the Assam High Court’s ratification of the constitution of the State of Nagaland at that time.

The emergence of the Guwahati High Court cases

The Assam Legislative Assembly approved a motion on September 9, 1947, recommending the establishment of a High Court for the Province of Assam after independence from British colonial authority. On March 1, 1948, the Governor-General of India, acting under the power granted by the Government of India Act 1935, issued the Assam High Court Order, which created the Assam High Court. H. J. Kania, India’s Chief Justice, presided over the opening ceremony on April 5, 1948. In addition, the first Chief Justice of the Assam High Court, Sir R.F. Lodge, was inaugurated on the same day. On August 14, 1948, the Assam High Court moved its proceedings from Shillong to Guwahati, where they had previously been conducted.

When Nagaland was established in 1963, the Assam high court was called the High Court of Assam and Nagaland.

Section 28(1)(a) of the Northeastern Areas (Reorganization) Act, 1971, abolished the High Court of Assam and Nagaland on January 21, 1972, after the reorganization of the northeastern portion of India. Section 30(1) of the Act also eliminated Manipur’s and Tripura’s Courts of Judicial Commissioners, which had previously served as the states’ high courts. One of the Act’s sections, Section 28(1)(b), states that instead of these three bodies, a single high court covering five states known as the Guwahati High Court will be established. Section 32 of this Act, which included the then union territories of Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram, gave this High Court jurisdiction over those territories.

The Guwahati High Court ceded its jurisdiction with a high Guwahati high court case status over Meghalaya, Manipur, and Tripura with the creation of these three states’ High Courts.

Principal Seat and Benches

For most of its operations, the Guwahati High Court is based in Guwahati, a city in the state of Assam. Outside of the court, three chairs are available. You’re looking at these:

It is situated in Kohima, the capital of Nagaland (established on 1 December 1972). Aizawl is the location of the Mizoram state bench (established on 5 July 1990). The Arunachal Pradesh state bench is located at Itanagar (established on 12 August 2000)

Guwahati High Court judicature

Want to know what the Guwahati high court is the judicature of? Solution The Supreme Court of Assam, Nagaland, and Arunachal Pradesh sits in Guwahati, the state’s capital.

The courts of appeals have been upgraded to full-fledged high courts:

Mizoram’s highest court, the Imphal bench, was established on January 21, 1972, and has been in operation ever since (Converted to a High Court in March 2013). On January 24, 1972, the Agartala Bench was erected (Converted to a High Court in March 2013). The Shillong Bench was established on September 4th, 1974. (Converted to a High Court in March 2013)

Kohima is the location of the Nagaland State Court.

The Kohima Bench in Nagaland’s capital city of Kohima, on the eastern slope of Ministers’ Hill, offers stunning views of the surrounding region. An old hostel was demolished and renovated to make room for the bench, which is now home to the Kohima Bench. On December 1, 1972, Chief Justice M.C. Pathak opened a bench in the capital of Kohima, which was at the time the country’s largest city.

The legislature of the state of Nagaland appoints the state’s permanent judge.

Indian entrepreneur and philanthropist Arup Kumar Goswami. (From the 1st of April, 2011, to now)

The Arunachal Pradesh state court’s Itanagar bench

Dr. A.S. Anand, the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of India, officiated over the opening of the Permanent Bench in Itanagar on August 12, 2000, in Naharlagun, some 13 kilometres from Itanagar.

Pranoy Kumar Musahary, an indefinitely appointed judge for the state of Arunachal Pradesh, has formally stepped down.

Aizawl is the location of the Mizoram state bench.

It is situated in Aizawl, the capital of Mizoram state, and houses the Aizawl Permanent Bench. When the Aizawl Permanent Bench of the Guwahati High Court was formally established on July 5, 1990, the then Chief Justice of India, Mr Justice S.B.Mukherjee, officiated.

Guwahati Court Recruitment

When it comes to Guwahati high court recruitment, the candidates who match the organization’s qualifying standards may apply online via its website. Look for the announcement for the Grade-III Assam Judicial Service Exam on the Recruitment website of the Guwahati High Court and click on the link that reads “Apply Online.” Please use this link to go to the application form.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *