Meghalaya High Court: When the Governor-General in Council assumed control of Shillong from Bengal’s Lieutenant Governor in 1874, he issued Proclamation No.379 and Notification No.380, dated February 6, 1874, to mark the transition. The Scheduled Districts Act of 1874, which went into effect in April of that year, classified the entire state of Assam as a “Scheduled District.”

After much deliberation, the Indian government announced on September 11, 1968, that it would create an autonomous state within the state of Assam that would include those areas listed in Part A of the table appended to Paragraph 20 of the Sixth Schedule to the Constitution and that would be known as Assam. By the Constitution 1969, Parliament was granted legislative authority to establish an independent state within the state of Assam, which was implemented immediately after the declaration. Consequently, the Assam Reorganization (Meghalaya) Act, 1969 (Act 55 of 1969) was passed, which established an independent state of Meghalaya within Assam, with provisions specific to the application of legislation in the form of Meghalaya.

According to the table attached to paragraph 20 of the Sixth Schedule, Meghalaya’s autonomous state comprises the United Khasi-Jaintia Hills District and the Garo Hills District, which are both located in northeastern India. The Assam Reorganization (Meghalaya) Act, 1969, which was an amendment to Article 12A of India’s Constitution, established an independent state of Meghalaya.

As a result of the Northeastern Areas (Reform) Act, 1971, which was enacted in 1970-1971, the political reorganization of the North Eastern Region took place (Act 81 of 1971). As a result of this Act, the autonomous state of Meghalaya was granted statehood on January 21, 1972, and Shillong served as the capital of both the independent state of Meghalaya and the state of Assam till that time. Suppose any law or regulation made by the District or Regional Council under paragraphs 3, 8, or 10 is found to conflict with the rules of Meghalaya. In that case, the law or regulation made by the District or Regional Council shall be declared void, and the law made by the Meghalaya Legislature shall take precedence over that law. The law made by the District or Regional Council shall be void. About Parliamentary Acts, the President’s prerogative to issue a notification ordering that a specific Act will not apply to Meghalaya was retained.

Chief Justice of High Court of Meghalaya

High Court for the five Northeastern states of Nagaland, Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, and Tripura, known as the Gauhati High Court. The Gauhati High Court is the highest in the region. The two Union Territories of Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh were also elevated to the status of states under the State of Migrants Act of 1995. zo Several years after establishing the Gauhati High Court (Establishment of Permanent Bench in Shillong) Order 1995, the Hon’ble Mr. Justice A.M. Ahmadi, then Chief Justice of India, officially dedicated and inaugurated the permanent Gauhati High Court bench in Shillong.

The Northeastern Areas (Reorganization) Act, 1971, and other relevant statutes Amendment Act, 2012, were the legal foundations for establishing the High Court of Meghalaya on March 23, 2013. On March 25, 2013, they officially inaugurated the Meghalaya High Courtin its new building, completed in 2012.

Look through the cause lists of the High Court of Meghalaya.

high court of meghalaya cause listwebsite can be found by searching for them. Users have access to the daily cause list and hearing list, updated daily. An individual can obtain a daily cause list by selecting a date, a lawyer’s name, a judge, a petitioner, and a respondent, among other options.

You Can Read Also:

Fight Your Case With Expert Lawyers in Andhra Pradesh
Tidbits About Orissa High Court
A Brief Introduction About the MP High Court