Now Tripura High Courtis the highest court, and it can be found in the state of Tripura. As a result of changes made to India’s constitution and the North-Eastern Areas (Re-organization) Act, 1971, it was formally established in March of that year. Agartala, the state capital, serves as the headquarters of the High Court of Tripura. The country’s first Chief Justice is Justice Deepak Gupta. According to a previous version of this article, the state of Tripura was covered by the Gauhati High Court’s jurisdictional bench.


According to Hindu mythology, the Mahabharatha-era kingdom of Tripura reigned supreme over an empire that spanned from India’s Bay of Bengal region in the south to Myanmar’s Burma, now Myanmar. The earliest surviving traces of Tripura’s past may be found on the Ashokan pillar inscriptions.

Historical Turning Point

For Tripura, a turning point in its history occurred in the 17th century, when the Manikyas gave up power to the Mughals, but retained some control over the area. When the British ruled Tripura during Colonial times, they gave the Manikya dynasty some limited independence in return. In 1949, the princely state of Tripura became a part of the Indian Union, putting an end to its regal past. On May 17, 1947, Maharaja Bir Bikram Kishore Manikya died, and a Regency Council, chaired by Maharani Kanchan Prabha Devi, was constituted to help the minor Prince, Kirit Bikram Kishore Manikya Bahadur. The merger agreement was signed by the regent between the Indian government and the regent.

Tripura became a Part ‘C’ state after the merger

Because of changes to the states’ boundaries, Tripura was upgraded to the rank of Union Territory in November 1956, and the Chief Commissioner was given the support of an Advisory Committee. On August 15, 1957, a Territorial Council was founded to replace the Advisory Committee, which had been disbanded by adopting adult voting. To replace the Tripura Territorial Council, which had been in place since its dissolution on July 1, 1963, a new Legislative Assembly was formed. A year later, on January 21, 1972, the North-Eastern Areas Act of 1971 was approved by Parliament, establishing Tripura as a sovereign state.

One CivilTripura hc Court with original jurisdiction and two Magisterial Courts were established in Agartala in 1874, the year the city was founded, including Agartala high court. There was also an appeals court and a Court of Special Appeals to consider the case. With a high Tripura high court case status, it works fine.

Both hill tribes and Bengali and Manipuri people were subject to separate criminal courts, each with a distinct jurisdictional scope. The Courts had essentially legislative powers, although they also had certain judicial duties. The Tripura (Courts) Order 1950 came into force on January 26, 1950, after the union of Tripura with India on October 15, 1949. These courts were established following Section 3 and Section 15 of the Tripura (Courts) Order, 1950.

The Changes in the Law

Due to the merger’s effect on state law, the judiciary of Tripura has remained comparable to that of other Indian states and the state government of Tripura has steadily accepted or enlarged on the reach of numerous state laws that function within its geographical jurisdiction. The Judicial Commissioner’s Court was disbanded on January 20, 1972, when it was upgraded to the position of the highest court in Tripura. It performed practically all of the functions of a High Court. In 1971, when Act 81 of 1971 reorganized the North-Eastern Areas and made Tripura a full-fledged state, the Assam and Nagaland High Courts were abolished following Section 28 of that Act. A single High Court was established for the five states of Assam, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Manipur, and Tripura and two Union Territories.

After its founding city of Gauhati, the Assam and Nagaland High Court was nicknamed the Gauhati High Court (The High Court of Nagaland, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, and Tripura). It was February 20, 1987, when Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh became states after legislation was passed known as the State of Mizoram Act (Act 34) and the State of Arunachal Pradesh Act (Act 69) was signed into law. With a proper Tripura high court case list, it offers the best choices.

The Zone Choices

Guwahati was chosen as the zone’s administrative centre because of its strategic location. It’s worth noting that each state’s bench of the aforementioned Supreme Court was established on a different date than the other states. Tripura was awarded a standard High Court bench on January 24, 1972. A Presidential order on the same day that created Tripura’s permanent bench authorized the court to have three permanent judges, making it the first Indian state to have a permanent bench.

An Act finally granted a separate High Court for the state of Tripura is known as the North-Eastern Areas (Reorganization) and Other Related Laws (Amendment) Act, 2012, after the people of Tripura and the legal community had pushed for it for many years through their elected representatives and the legal community. The Principal Act has undergone a major overhaul to accomplish this goal.

You Can Read Also:

MP High Court
Rajasthan Court
Jharkhand High Court
Chhattisgarh High Court